melle-belle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

symbolism

When I loaded up my silver Hyundai and drove from Phoenix to Baltimore, it felt epic. I was finally taking a proper road trip. Only moving with what fit in my car.

On the way, standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona. Peering into Meteor Crater. All you can eat meat in Amarillo. The memorial in Oklahoma City. The resting place of the king. "Eat, drink, boogie, repeat." My feet on the dashboard as my ex-boyfriend, even at that moment - already by ex, drove. The sunset in the passenger side mirror.

I'm somewhat compelled to repeat the process in reverse. Short 423 miles of course. I can be a ridiculously symbolic person and crossing the country by car, the same way I came? It seems proper closure for a chapter that dragged just a bit for the last third. This time, the sun rises in my side mirror.

4:53 p.m. - 2012-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

avantbedroc
usb-port
kelsi
lissacakes
boombasticat