melle-belle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Heirloom. Like Tomatoes. Before We Bred All the Flavor Out.

We eat a lot of vegetables. We eat a lot of fruit. We eat a lot of whole grain. We eat a lot of fiber. We take our vitamins. I stress about getting all the A's, and B's and C's from food instead of gummy chewables. I stress about using a can of beans instead of rehydrating a couple of cups from a large bag of dried ones, picking through for stones, rinsing thoroughly.

Maybe people are meant to change with the seasons, like the Earth. Maybe that's why the routine of the office job gets more and more difficult every year. I don't fit.

I fantasize about gardening, creating dinners from the bounty. About farmer's markets and locally-raised chicken and their eggs. I fantasize about menu-planning, assuring all the nutrients are there from all the fresh, organic food. I even fantasize about breastfeeding, cloth diapering and baby-led weaning. I hate to admit I want to be a stay at home mom (SAHM - gag), because my defining characteristic should never be mother. It just has to do with the way I think life should be lived. And there doesn't seem to be enough time or energy to live life appropriately in the confines of a seasonless office.

5:27 p.m. - 2012-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

avantbedroc
usb-port
kelsi
lissacakes
boombasticat