melle-belle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Farewell to Arms

"I know everyone is making fun of this line, but I think 'There is no me. There is only us. Don't make me a separate me,' is a beautiful thing to same to somebody, as long as it's reciprocated. And it doesn't have to be unhealthy to feel that way. And on the next page where she says, 'You are my religion...' these two people have made it clear that they have given up on God, so there is no blasphemy in saying that another person is your religion. There are other things, such as her saying that she'll say whatever he wants and do whatever he wants that I don't like, but these two lines - I don't have a problem with them."

I come into this reading having a pre-existing interest in the era between the two world wars and the Lost Generation. And the writing from that time frame seems to have a cynicism that rides atop a sense of despair. Here, I see it in these characters who have lost the ability to properly emote. It's like I see these bland characters and I sense all that they have lost and I supply the missing emotion.

9:06 p.m. - 2009-10-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

avantbedroc
usb-port
kelsi
lissacakes
boombasticat