melle-belle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

your husband

I was never in love with your husband
I enjoyed the timbre of your lives
your champagne and quiche settling my empty stomach
double-dates with my "beau" as he called him
I had my own obsession!
I can still picture him, martini in hand
dancing to Lou Bega
one-two-three-four-five
liquid sloshing out, splashing the wood floor
did he ever even do that?
his affections embarrassed me
I never felt deserving of all that love
only now do I realize what was happening
I was a girl who didn't even know she was playing along
I showered him with distance, and he wanted more
years later, you ask me to compare notes from those days
while he sleeps in your old house with another woman
I am 3000 miles away, a woman grown into her own mediocrity
your Andrew is my Robert
I can compare nothing

9:23 p.m. - 2008-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

avantbedroc
usb-port
kelsi
lissacakes
boombasticat