melle-belle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't ruminate your life away.

Let's pretend for an instant that there are happy endings, a moment really, or even an hour. What if we pretended an entire day, or in the absence of cynics a week's vacation of happy-ended bliss? Let's go on pretending until our last instants that this moment has been happy and each preceding it too.

I read an article online today about "letting it go," but they never defined "it." Don't allow yourself to ruminate, they said, or ruminate in vigilantly adhered to three minute stints. Ruminate only after the project is complete, as a treat. Just don't ruminate your life away. Don't let it derail you, or worse your "career." Some of us are just ruminators. Some of us may still be tabulating the collateral damage in that last precious instant.

I hate mentioning something as online, I feel like it pigeonholes a space in time. The same as referring to text messaging. If I were to say that I inferred "Don't ruminate your life away" from your telling me, "Let it go," then you would have been talking to me and that somehow is timeless. For argument's sake, a case could be made that referring to actually speaking sans electronic medium would carbon date our transaction as well.

Our transaction? There is no you.

I'm not over my it. I don't want my it back because I've seen what it looks like now and what a mess. It was something, as the lament goes. Four years ago, it was quite something, and I may never let it go.

10:02 p.m. - 2008-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

avantbedroc
usb-port
kelsi
lissacakes
boombasticat